Club diary

Unless otherwise stated, meetings are at the World Horse Welfare Belwade Farm visitor centre and begin at 7.30pm.

Wed 4 Sept 2019 We will welcome new members and provide them with an introduction to the Club.  We will also have a “show and tell” of images taken by members during the summer break.
Wed 11 Sept 2019 Talk – Getting off ‘Auto’ – how to use some of the other modes on your camera.  Bring your camera so you can put it into practice.  We will also look at how to resize images and remove Exif data for assignments and competitions.
Wed 18 Sept 2019 Practical – still life:  The Club’s exhibition will be available to view in the meeting room while we get together in the cafeteria to practice still life photography.   Bring your camera and, if you have them, a tripod and a flash unit – but don’t worry if you don’t have them.
Wed 25 Sept 2019 Practical – “night lights”:  The Club’s exhibition will be available to view in the meeting room while we will be outside for a “night lights” photography session.  We will be using a range of moving light sources to create light trails on long exposure images. If you have not done long exposure photography before, this will be a good opportunity to learn and to produce some stunning images. Bring your camera and, if you have one, a tripod – but don’t worry if you don’t have one.  (If weather inclement we will meet in the cafeteria for post-processing practice.)

Last day for submission of Assignment 1 images – Open.

Wed 2 Oct 2019 Astrophotography:  An illustrated talk on astrophotography by Simon White. You can see some of Simon’s work at his website
Wed 9 Oct 2019 Judging of Assignment 1 – Open.  Judge:  David Hendry
Wed 16 Oct 2019 Feedback from the recent member survey followed by an open discussion of what members want in the Club’s programme.

Also, a summary of feedback from visitors to the exhibition.

Wed 23 Oct 2019 An illustrated talk from member Harry Scott on the finer points of image composition.
Wed 30 Oct 2019 Practical – part 1:  A practical session to improve your use of your camera.  We will be doing a number of exercises with liquids. There are six exercises in all and you will have the opportunity to try three in part 1 and the remaining three in part 2 on 13 November. Bring your camera, and if you them, tripod and flash unit, either built-in or separate – but don’t worry if you don’t have them. The ability to position and trigger the flash unit remotely from the camera will be of assistance but is not essential.
Wed 6 Nov 2019 Members’ talks:  We will have talks from three of our members
Wed 13 Nov 2019 Practical – part 2:   A second practical session to improve your use of your camera.  See 30 October for details.
Wed 20 Nov 2019 An image sharing evening from our recent practical sessions: ‘Still Life’ (18th September) ‘Night Lights’ (25th Sept) ‘Liquids Part 1’ (30th Oct) and ‘Liquids Part 2’ (13th Nov). 

Last date for submission of Assignment 2 images – The River Dee

Wed 27 Nov 2019 Event photography:  In recent years members have photographed a wide range of outdoor events in the area.  We will look at, compare and discuss members’ images from these events.  We will also look at how to tackle photography in a theatre and on the following evening we can put it into practice.
Thurs 28 Nov 2019 Photographing a pantomime dress rehearsal:  This evening we will be at the Deeside Community Centre in Aboyne where there is a dress rehearsal in the theatre for the pantomime.  We have been given access to photograph the rehearsal.  This is a great opportunity to develop your skills in photographing this type of event – and if you have never done this sort of thing before, other members will be on hand to help.   The dress rehearsal will begin at 7pm sharp and we need to be in our positions by 6.45pm.  So please make sure you are in the Community Centre reception area BY 6.40PM AT THE LATEST, then everyone will go through to the auditorium together, avoiding any stragglers getting lost or disrupting show preparations etc.
Wed 4 Dec 2019 Judging Assignment 2 – The River Dee.  Judge:  Andy Hayes
Wed 11 Dec 2019 A talk on drone photography by Club member Phil Fisher.
Wed 18 Dec 2019 Christmas dinner followed by a quiz.  7pm for 7.30pm at The Boat Inn, Aboyne.
Tues 31 Dec 2019 Last date for submission of Assignment 3 images – Movement
Wed 8 Jan 2020 Gadgets and gizmos equipment show:  We resume meetings after the break with a chance to look at some items of photographic equipment which members would not be without.
Wed 15 Jan 2020 Judging of Assignment 3 – Movement
Wed 22 Jan 2020 Talk and practice using flash (speedlights): How to get the best from off-camera flash. Bring your camera and, if you have them, tripod and flash unit (but don’t worry if you don’t have them).
Wed 29 Jan 2020 Portraiture demonstration by Red Dawn Photography
Wed 5 Feb 2020 Clacks exchange: We have an annual exchange of images with Clacks Camera Club. Tonight we will view and critique the images which Clacks sent to us.
Wed 12 Feb 2020 Portraiture practical workshop: A session putting into practice the guidance on portraiture from the speedlight session and the Red Dawn talk. Bring your camera and, if you have them, tripod and flash unit (but don’t worry if you don’t have them).

Last date for submission of Assignment 4 images – Open

Thurs 13 Feb 2020 Deeside/Donside competition: The annual competition will be hosted this year by Donside Camera Club at Alford Public Hall, Kingsford Road, Alford. Start time: 7.30pm
Wed 19 Feb 2020 Practical – Night photography around Aboyne: We will be outdoors photographing in groups in Aboyne. This is an opportunity to learn more about the low light capabilities of your camera. Bring your camera and, if you have one, a tripod (but don’t worry if you don’t have one). We will meet at 7.30pm in the car park in Aboyne in front of the Huntly Arms Hotel.
Wed 26 Feb 2020 Judging of Assignment 4 – Open
Wed 4 Mar 2020 Image Share – portraits and night shots: Viewing and discussion of the images from our practical portraiture session on 12 February and the night photography session on 19 February.
Wed 11 Mar 2020 Practical – Light Painting: An outdoor practical session using moving light sources to create light trails on long exposure images. Bring your camera and, if you have one, a tripod (but don’t worry if you don’t have one).
Wed 18 Mar 2020 Review and critique SPF competition winning images: Viewing and discussion of some of the winning images from recent Scottish Photographic Federation competitions. We will ask: What makes a winning image?

Last date for submission of Assignment 5 images – Still life

Wed 25 Mar 2020 Developing vision and style:  How to set about developing your own personal approach to photography.  A talk by Club member Nigel Corby.
Wed 1 Apr 2020 Judging of Assignment 5 – Still Life
Wed 8 Apr 2020 Intentional camera movement/zoom burst and double exposure: We usually try to keep the camera still when taking photographs. Tonight we will have a practical session when we deliberately move the camera during the exposure to create interesting effects. We will also look at the effects which can be produced by zooming the lens during an exposure and by superimposing images in-camera. Bring your camera.
Wed 15 Apr 2020 Shooting video with a DSLR: An external speaker will give a talk on how to make videos using your camera.
Sat 18 Apr 2020 Grampian Eye 2020: Grampian Eye is an annual photography competition among camera clubs in the North East of Scotland. Grampian Eye 2020 will be hosted by Forres Camera Club. The judge for the event is Libby Smith from Carluke. Venue details to follow. Admission to the event is by ticket only. Tickets can be obtained from participating clubs.
Wed 22 Apr 2020 Time-lapse photography: Time-lapse photography is about taking single images and combining them to create a video that shows the movement of the environment around you. In this practical session we will look at how you can make a short video which compresses the passage of time.
Wed 29 Apr 2020 Video clip share: Viewing and discussion of video clips from 15 April and 22 April. Also Grampian Eye results.

Last date for submission of Assignment 6 images – Within walking distance of my house.

Wed 6 May 2020 Experiments with monochrome photography around Belwade:   A practical session in which we will explore what makes a good monochrome photograph.
Wed 13 May 2020 Judging of Assignment 6 – Within walking distance of my house
Wed 20 May 2020 Photography in extreme environments:  Club member David Harper will talk about his experiences of photographing in extreme environments.
Wed 27 May 2020 AGM & Prize Awards: The Club’s annual general meeting with awards to winners of the assignment groups and the announcement of the Photograph of the Year.
Wed 10 Jun 2020 Summer evening outing: Details will be provided later.
Wed 24 Jun 2020 Summer evening outing
Wed 8 Jul 2020 Summer evening outing
Wed 22 Jul 2020 Summer evening outing
Wed 5 Aug 2020 Summer evening outing
Wed 19 Aug 2020 Summer evening outing
Wed 2 Sept 2020 Start of 2020-21 session