You are here

Upcoming events at Deeside Camera Club

Deeside Camera Club meets at World Horse Welfare's Belwade Farm, outside of Aboyne at 19:30 on Wednesdays from September through to May.

Event Date and time Description
Quiz Night and Dinner Wednesday, December 20, 2017 - 19:30

The Club’s Christmas Dinner and quiz (this year set by Louise Black)

7 for 7.30 pm at The Boat Inn in Aboyne

Menu choices to Louise Black no later than 6 December

Last submission date for Assignment 3 Sunday, December 31, 2017 - 23:59

Last submission date for Assignment 3 – People

Camera basics Wednesday, January 10, 2018 - 19:30

Guided by club member, David Hendry, we will look at some of the features of the modern camera.

Assignment 3 Wednesday, January 17, 2018 - 19:30

Judging of assignment 3 - People

Judge: Mike Hall

Clacks image exchange Wednesday, January 24, 2018 - 19:30

We will look at and comment on photos which Clacks Camera Club sent to us and then hear their comments on our photos which we sent to them.

Raw processing Wednesday, January 31, 2018 - 19:30

Saving your images in the camera as RAW files greatly increases your options when it comes to processing the files. Club member, Chris Bell, will explain how to process RAW files and show us some of the simple but powerful adjustments which are possible.

Last submission date for Assignment 4 - Abstract

Deeside - Donside competition Thursday, February 1, 2018 - 19:30

The annual friendly competition with Donside Camera Club will be hosted this year by Donside at Alford.

Practical evening Wednesday, February 7, 2018 - 19:30

A practical evening indoors at Belwade. Bring your camera (and tripod if you have one),

No meeting Wednesday, February 14, 2018 - 19:30

No meeting

External speaker - Andy Hall Wednesday, February 21, 2018 - 19:30

Andy Hall is a local photographer with a national and an international reputation. Some of his work can be seen here on his website. His talk will be based around his new book "Aberdeenshire - A New Perspective". He will speak about some of the photographs in the book and the stories behind them.

Assignment 4 Wednesday, February 28, 2018 - 19:30

Judging of assignment 4: Abstract

Judge: Bob Naylor

Last submission date for assignment 5: All Creatures Great and Small

Talk: Phone photography Wednesday, March 7, 2018 - 19:30

Club member, David Harper, will give a talk on phone photography. The evening will also be part of the Mad March Science Festival

Peterhead image exchange Wednesday, March 14, 2018 - 19:30

We will look at and comment on the photos which Peterhead Camera Club have sent to us.

Assignment 5 Wednesday, March 21, 2018 - 19:30

Judging of assignment 5 - All Creatures Great and Small

Judge: Harry Scott

External Speaker - Frazier Robertson Wednesday, March 28, 2018 - 19:30

Frazier Robertson will give a talk on Astro Photography

No meeting Wednesday, April 4, 2018 - 19:30

No meeting

Last submission date for Assignment 6 Wednesday, April 11, 2018 - 23:59

No meeting but this is the last submission date for Assignment 6 – Four Images on a Theme.

Discussion evening Wednesday, April 18, 2018 - 19:30

During the year we will have heard comments on our photographs from a number of judges. This evening we will reflect on some of those comments and consider how they can be used to improve our photographs..

Practical evening Wednesday, April 25, 2018 - 19:30

A practical evening photographing horses at Belwade. Bring your camera.

Assignment 6 Wednesday, May 2, 2018 - 19:30

Judging of assignment 6 - Four Images on a Theme

Judge: Nigel Corby

External speaker - Andy Hayes Wednesday, May 9, 2018 - 19:30

Andy Hayes will give a talk titled “Wildlife and other photography”.

Grampian Eye 2018 Saturday, May 12, 2018 - 10:00

The annual Grampian Eye competition will be hosted by Westhill Photography Club in the Sir Ian Wood Building at RGU. Admission by ticket only.

Peterhead image exchange Wednesday, May 16, 2018 - 19:30

We will hear the comments from Peterhead Camera Club on our images which we sent to them.

Practical evening Wednesday, May 23, 2018 - 19:30

A practical evening titled “Low tech Portraits”. We will look at how to take portraits with the minimum of additional equipment. Bring your camera {and tripod if you have one}.

AGM and awards Wednesday, May 30, 2018 - 19:30

The Club’s annual general meeting with awards to winners of the assignment groups and the announcement of the Photograph of the Year.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer